31 NIGHTS OF HALLOWEEN – 11 – The Other Ten – Top Ten post-1973 Horror Films

Maybe this will show I’m much less classically inclined than I like to paint myself, but honestly here is where I completely had trouble making my list as opposed to yesterday where I just picked the horror films that affected me most profoundly. But The Film Experience commands (other bloggers who are not me) and I follow up.

But before I do… I would like to at least address the many movies I considered for this post-1973 Horror Movie list that just didn’t make the cut…

HONORABLE MENTIONS

  

Inland Empire (2006/dir. David Lynch/USA)
Videodrome (1983/dir. David Cronenberg/Canada)
The Vanishing (1988/dir. George Sluzier/Netherlands)
The Evil Dead (1981/dir. Sam Raimi/USA)
The Thing (1982/dir. John Carpenter/USA)
The Descent (2005/dir. Neil Marshall/UK)
The Shining (1980/dir. Stanley Kubrick/USA)
The Beyond (1981/dir. Lucio Fulci/Italy)
Phantom of the Paradise (1974/dir. Brian De Palma/USA)
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974/dir. Tobe Hooper/USA)

10. Suspiria (1977/dir. Dario Argento/Italy)
For playing with the sensibilities of a child in fear and painting it in bold saturation.

9. Dawn of the Dead (1978/dir. George Romero/USA)
For being the funniest little piece of satire while being the most disturbing little piece of isolation.

8. Evil Dead II (1987/dir. Sam Raimi/USA)
For being the funniest, the scariest and the most ridiculous all at the same time… Three Stooges Halloween edition.

7. Eraserhead (1977/dir. David Lynch/USA)
For telling me more about the darker psychology of filmmaking than hamfisted dialogue could.

6. Mulholland Dr. (2001/dir. David Lynch/USA)
Because fuck Hollywood, David Lynch goes fiddy tho!

5. Alien (1979/dir. Ridley Scott/USA)
For violating the audience sadistically, gleefully and where no one can hear us scream…

4. House (1977/dir. Nobuhiko Obayashi/Japan)
For being the most adorably creepy and relentlessly exciting ghost story put together by a 13-year-old

2. Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992/dir. Francis Ford Coppola/USA)
Because I totally forgive it.

and number one…

Jaws (1975/dir. Steven Spielberg/USA)
Because it’s Twin Peaks with a shark instead of a killer.

I promise to be back tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

