31 NIGHTS OF HALLOWEEN – 10 – Ten for Ten – Favorite pre-1973 Horror Films

I’m very sorry. My sister, who was publishing these pre-drafted posts in my absence as I was taking a brief respite upstate without my computer, accidentally posted the wrong article first and then forgot to post the second one the next night. I provide Article 10 of Movie Motorbreath, promise to be more careful next time (as will she, who is very apologetic) and promise a unique installment in 31 Nights of Halloween by the afternoon today for Night 12. Just when I was ready to get this shit back together, it gets out of control again. It’s my first time… Thanks for your patience.

-STinG

This was about a year ago, but the Film Experience had two little list challenges for their contributors about horror pictures, dividing them in classifications of classic (before and during The Exorcist) and modern (after The Exorcist). I don’t know why the fuck they chose The Exorcist, but ok, I’m game and I decided to participate on my own… partly because lists are fun and largely because I’m not on my computer and my sister is posting this pre-arranged article for me. Sorry to cheat you guys out like that, but I wanna keep on schedule (despite how late my posts arrive), so here we go with my choice for my favorite ten horror films before and during 1973.

10. Godzilla (1954/dir. Ishiro Honda/USA)
For being the beginning of the modern kaiju picture and the heights that it would never reach again.
9. Freaks (1932/dir. Tod Browning/USA)
For the idea of a monster right on its head and still reaching out as completely humane despite its cynicism and anger.
8. Rosemary’s Baby (1968/dir. Roman Polanski/USA)
Intruding on domestic paradise with paranoia, deceit and violation… and the irony that it came out of Roman Polanski’s lens of all people.
7. The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1919/dir. Robert Wiene/Germany)
For making you feel just a little tipsy, for making things seem not like they should, for still frightening you in the eyes of Cesare and then confirming all your suspicions.
 
6. The Wicker Man (1973/dir. Robin Hardy/UK)For being both a criticism of culture and rejection of culture.

5. Psycho (1960/dir. Alfred Hitchcock/USA)
For having Hitchcock do what he does best… Change film’s playing field.

4. The Bride of Frankenstein (1935/dir. James Whale/USA)For helping itself to all different sorts of genres and elements of Whale’s life and Shelley’s story to create one of the most unique tales of horror ever gracing the screen.

3. Night of the Living Dead (1968/dir. George Romero/USA)
For eschewing too much gore and marrying the horror of ideas into the real shocker of the century.

2. Faust (1926/dir. F.W. Murnau/Germany)
Because it gave one of the greatest filmmakers who ever lived one more chance to change a genre’s standing and he did it so beautifully with one of my favorite tales that it almost made me cry.

And number 1

Meshes of the Afternoon (1943/dir. Maya Deren/USA)
See for yourself…

Until then… see you tomorrow with the next list…
3 thoughts on “31 NIGHTS OF HALLOWEEN – 10 – Ten for Ten – Favorite pre-1973 Horror Films

Leave a Reply

