Ten Short Segments About SpongeBob Squarepants

In the Nein reviews, I have two films left to go over (and there’s another 2015 release I caught that I’m hoping to toss a review for this week). One of them is The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water and the other is Predestination. Honestly, I feel I want to take another look at Predestination before I say anything other than OH MY FUCK, SARAH SNOOK IS THE BOMB DIGGITY, so it should be obvious that my next review tonight will be The SpongeBob Movie.

Before I do, I just obviously address something. The SpongeBob Movie, like its 2004 theatrical predecessor, is obviously a film that is created with the target of the previous audience members of the hit television series since it premiered on Nickelodeon in 1999. I having been either 6 or 7 when the show premiered and struggling to enter the maelstrom of American youth culture am totally one of those people who watched the show.

And moreso, I loved what I saw. At least until I stopped watching around the middle of the 00s (the common consensus is that the series has lost its irreverent wacky yet endearing touch by that point anyway). But since I look back on the series, I figure not everybody is a fan of SpongeBob like I am and so, if I may, I would like to plant a recommendation in the form of my top ten favorite SpongeBob Squarepants segments (there is usually two per episode). A bit of pre-review viewing for the folks.

10. Frankendoodle – Because now when I go crazy I make the same noises as Frankendoodle.

9. Dying for Pie – Because ideas like pirates selling bomb pies make me want what the writers were smoking.

8. Sailor Mouth – It’s not a surprise that one of my favorites would be the one that deals with *dolphin noise*ing cursing.

7. Mid-Life Crustacean – It’s totally that I’m feeling it.

6. Pizza Delivery – It’s the pizza for you and me.

5. Band Geeks – Any episode with Squilliam means some fantastic shit is happening, but this is situational humor of the most flexible kind.

4. Squilliam Returns – Like I said… Squilliam means good shit coming.

3. Chocolate with Nuts – Odds are you’ve already heard about this but let me remind you.

2. Idiot Box – This is honestly among the more fantastic episodes for how earnest and light-hearted Spongebob can prove to be. Encouraging youth, frivolity, and IMAAAAGINATION! (another episode I didn’t have room to add, but would suggest is Bubblestand for the same reason)

1. Graveyard Shift – Yeah, ok, it’s how obviously spooky it is, but most of all, it is the final gag that makes me think it’s the best thing ever.

Alright, GET TO IT. See you tonight.

Leave a Reply

