My Favorite Things – Omissions and Explanations from My Television Series List

It’s close to my birthday coming up and I feel like the lists from the original blogger page were due to be moved to this WordPress page anyway. But in the 2 years that passed, already a lot has changed. So while I am reposting the original topics in piecemeal (There will be four separate articles for my 100 favorite films), a lot of changes are gonna happen just because I will go “icky” and think “nope, not that one.”

I don’t do that much television watching. Like barely any nowadays, save for a select couple. And even then I don’t have cable (or I don’t even think local tv, but I’ve never bothered checking), so I’d be hanging by a friend’s if I wanna catch Bob’s Burgers or Game of Thrones. Still, I’ve watched enough to have shows I considered for my top 20 list and then knocked off and so, before I present that list, the ones that almost made the cut and that some of my friends will be in shock by being removed:

Orange Is the New Black – I swear if I wasn’t lazy, it’d be a 21 count list, but I just don’t want to bother making 21 paragraphs and I feel like this show would be the paragraph that makes me sound most like an idiot (along the lines of “Yay! Captain Janeway! Yay! Boobs! Yay! Feminism! Yay! Regina Spektor! Yay! Lorraine Toussaint, Uzo Aduba, Pable Schreiber, and pretty much most of the cast! Yay!”). It’s not even that it would be at 21, Orange Is the New Black would undoubtedly be Top Ten, I just feel like I’d sound least eloquent talking about this one.

Strangers with Candy, Wonderfalls, My So-Called Life, Lupin III, Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace – I just recently watched these. I love them with no small love, but let me ruminate. But I find them all witty and entertaining… goddammit, you see what I meant with lack of eloquence here.

The Office – It sure changed a lot of comic television foundations, but I got an even better revolutionary comedy show coming up. I have seen episodes of the American show, by the way, and laughed a lot. But it doesn’t come close for me.

Lost – I feel liked I’d be stoned to death for admitting I liked this show. ‘Cause, y’know, Lindelof is the Devil now. But man, was this show addictive.

Da Ali G Show – Ali G is the man and if you disagree, change your mind.

Fringe, Malcolm in the Middle, Farscape, Community – So these I have to admit – I have not seen every episode of. What I have seen has often been outside of chronological order. And I have no intention of doing so proper. I’m too lazy at this point in my life. But I love what I saw and rarely got something to gripe about from these shows.

Aqua Teen Hunger Force, The Boondocks, Squidbillies, Rick and Morty, Metalocalypse – I was only going to allow ONE Adult Swim program on this, but I need to acknowledge how many hours of sleep I’ve wasted both staying up to (and waking up to – Gigantor has so many of my REM memories) these shows because I can’t stop laughing.

Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm – What can I say? Larry David is a damned comedy genius and Seinfeld shaped my perception of the world in an unhealthy manner. Like every time I’m in New York, I visit the Soup Nazi’s kitchen. When I watch The English Patient, everything Elaine had to say about the movie rings in my mind. I can’t see Wayne Knight without the word “Newman” popping in my head. Alongside how I relate way too much to Larry David in Curb Your Enthusiasm (and friends had told me he reminds them of me), I think I am a bit broken as a person and it’s his fault.

Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad – I feel like the amount of hype and love these shows receive without any restraint, being constantly called “the best shows I’ve ever seen on TV” by guys who probably started watching TV with those shows, got in the way of making those shows rank. But when excellence exists, it exists and both Game of Thrones and Breaking Bad’s serialized excellence deserves at least the acknowledgement of how finely crafted they are.

South Park, The Simpsons, Tales from the Crypt, The Twilight Zone, Friends, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air – I feel like I’ve seen way too many episodes of these – classic and old – to pretend that I’m not a fan. I absolutely adore these shows. But I think as time went on by now, I discovered myself less and less eager to watch them like I was when I was younger.

Star Trek: The Next Generation – My very first exposure to Star Trek was also the one that stuck to my mind most often, between remembering all of Picard’s insights and how many times all the characters made a bigger deal out of the danger than there actually was to the point of the danger finally being let out the bag by the time the Borg showed up.

Over the Garden Wall, Fanny and Alexander, The Up Series, Civilisation, The Singing Detective, Scenes from a Marriage, Pennies from Heaven, The Civil War – I was only going to include ONE miniseries. Just one. Even in spite of how utterly brilliant these were. So which one is it? Wait to see.

Sesame Street – This is completely ludicrous and insane but I’m serious about loving Sesame Street. Fuck with me.

OK, here comes the rest.

Leave a Reply

